Forum

• Have the EIRP calculations changed for MIMO systems?

Say I was previously limited to 20 dBm output on a pre- 802.11n device.

So now, I want to replace said device with an "n" AP where each radio chain in the 2x2 device is putting out 20 dBM. As far as the regulations go, am I still running 20 dBm, or am I running at 20 + 20 = 23 dBm?

If the answer is 23 dBm, do I now have to turn down my power output on both radios so that the total is still 20 dBm?

• By (Deleted User)

In reading the FCC Part 15.247 it does say "output power at the intentional radiator," which I read as antenna. I'm no expert, but it seems to me that if you have separate radio chains on separate attenae in your AP, you should be fine with both chains running at your max power. Again no expert, but that's the way I read it.

• IR=Intentional Radiator, would be everything up to but not including the antenna.

EIRP=Equivalent Isotropically Radiated Power, Would include the antenna and is whats actually transmitted into the air.

• By (Deleted User)

Eek, I guess that partially explains my low score on the standards section of the test. Thanks for the info Mike. I'll have to reread the FCC doc with that shift in focus now.

• Sorry, I'm confused on what the answer is. If the 2 antennas has to equal 20dB, does that mean that the coverage is less than using 1 antennas?

• I can't find any answers to this question even though I'm sure it's a simple answer.

What do the rules say?. What do various Regulatory Agnecies (e.g. FCC) say about this?

In older diversity devices, only one antenna at a time was transmitting. Now that multiple antennas will be transmitting simultaneously on the same frequency, have the rules changed?

GT ?

Dave1234 ?

• Just called the FCC?s office of Engineering and Technology and am waiting for a callback.

In the meantime, found the following:

www.atcb.com/seminardocs2/Desert.ppt

The third slide seems to suggest composite power.