• Hi All good friends.

Little about me, i am not a RF guy, didnt had the chance to attend any cwna training (nobody is offering in my area), and i am just starting out in wireless. Already have 7 years of experience in wired so i am not new to networking but wireless is not my baby. 

I need your guys help to understand airtime usage in wireless. Lets keep airtime fairness offered by different vendors completely aside. Lets talk only about pure wireless communication (and before 802.11ac just to avoid any confusion). I want to understand it at the core.

At wireless core, communication is half duplex because only 1 device can send packet at one time. My first question is very very simple but i need a pure technical authorative answer for my own curiosity

1. Assuming we have 2 or more clients, what determines how much transmit time each client gets ? meaning, how much time does client 1 gets to transmit ?  
    2. Based on above's answer, i may need to ask, is there anyway client 1 can starve client 2 and client 3 but not giving them any chance to transmit at all ? does it happens ?

Guys, by authorative answer i mean something that can be related back to facts provided in wireless standards. 

This is a humble request by a guy who is dying out of curiosity since i am not able to find any explanation of above questions. Please help me to understand

• If you don't mind, lets start with your question 2. 

Jammers, DoS hacking tools, and incorrect CCA algorithms could cause the others to stop transmitting.

Do you want to ignore these, for now, and get into the more basic issues first?

Are you contemplating a "jabber- like" condition on Ethernet?

• Hi Howard, 

Thanks for question 2. Please help me with question 1

• Have you read the CWNP 802.11 Arbitration  white paper ?  

That would be a good place to start if you haven't.

It's at:

• Thanks alot Howard, a great and superb resource shared. I really am grateful to you.