Forum

WPA and IAS

11 posts by 2 authors in: Forums > CWSP - Enterprise Wi-Fi Security
Last Post: July 21, 2004:
  • By (Deleted User)

Hello,

I have a problem to which I can't seem to find a solution.
    I'm studying for the CWNA and have a Linksys Wrt54G Access Point. I setup an IAS server on a Windows 2003 machine and configured a client for the AP, on the AP I configured RADIUS authentication (WPA RADIUS didn't seem to work either).

Using my protocol analyzer I can see that the AP sends a radius request to the IAS server, and that it responds favorably (radius-accept) ..but.. the AP keeps resending the authentication request and doesn't seem to realize that it has been validated.

This results on the user/machine not being authenticated at all. On my PDA I just see the login prompt over and over again.

I've configured everything properly as far as I know, anyone got any ideas???

• Do you have the latest firmware installed on the WRT54G? The latest release is v2.02.7.

Also make sure the RADIUS server on Windows 2003 server actually supports the Linksys WRT54G.

Have a look through this Using RADIUS For WLAN Authentication tutorial for a possible solution: http://www.wi-fiplanet.com/tutorials/article.php/10724_3287481_2

• By (Deleted User)

Yes, I have the latest firmware. I was under the impression that RADIUS was a standard and hardware/software devices conformed to it, hence the RADIUS server need not know that my hardware is a linksys wrt54g.

I'll check out that tutorial, thanks.

• I've noticed postings on other boards about certain AP's not working with specific implementations of RADIUS. In one case, a firmware upgrade introduced a bug and broke that AP's ability to successfully negotiate a RADIUS session.