Forum

• Hi folks.

I am trying to find the table of data rates that the most common apple devices support and the signal strenght at which they change data rates.

If anyone has any info please would you let me know (and it's a bit urgent...)

Cheers,

NM

• Disclaimer: I'm no expert on apple products...

It's my understanding the that ipad and ipad2 have a dual band 11n radio with support only for a single spatial stream using the BCM4329 chipset with a maximum theoretical throughput of 65Mbps

The speed at which the device negotiates is dependent on both the device itself and the wireless station that it's associating to.

This table may provide some insight into what data rates you may see,

1 spatial stream, 20Mhz channel width, long guard interval (800 ns)
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/IEEE_802.11n-2009#Data_rates

• Thanks, Ryan, I know that already though.

The WiFi alliance certs for each device add to what you said and have more detail.

I am fine with the theory of the rates, I am trying to find specifically the dbm values at which the chipset (as installed in the iphone) is set to shift.

I want to see what rater will be used at -70dbm, -75 dbm, etc.

NM

• I am betting that the only way you will find that information is to test it for yourself - although if you were a big enough Apple customer they may give it to you (NDA ?).

Rate adaptation is a much more sophisticated process than it used to be. We often hear that roaming algorithms are part of the "secret sauce" for individual radio (i.e. not just chipset) manufacturers. Rate adaptation is a "kissing cousin" to those algorithims. These may be tied very closely, and be difficult to separate.

While trying to determine the "hard and fast" adaptation points may not be too difficult, it might be difficult to include retry and missed beacon counts into your measurements.