Forum

• Dave just had to comment my dad was a serious ham, I mean just obscene!!! Over the years of helping him with ?bigger and better? antennas I did learn a few things, until I joined the Navy and was a submarine sonarman. Eventually ended up in cell telephony and then WLAN via being an IT sub and the one thing that kinda always killed me was the way CWNP and all the other WLAN vendors kinda gloss over the antenna thing, like it?s not important or something? I mean every packet is going to be sent or received through an antenna, it?s gotta be as important as the AP or STA right? Wrong, but I get it, how much do guys really have to know to be able to do RF math, and select antennas based on this? It?s my major issue with every WLAN planning tool out there, what happens when you take an omni and install it on a metal wall; can you say 180? directional, and yet even Wireless Valley, I mean Lan planer from Motorola can?t do it right!

btw Rodrigo the only reason the guys like to post here is that it?s the only satisfaction we get, you know ?living in a van down by the river? and stealing wifi from the local Holiday Inn, isn?t exactly like we thought our lives would be, I thought I?d have gold teeth and a very sexy robot body!

• In case anyone has not heard of "living in a van down by the river", it's all about broken dreams. Try googling it and watch the wonderful and dearly missed Chris Farley of Saturday Night Live working his magic. Christina Applegate and David Spade are trying desperately not to laugh.

Dave

• Hi guys,

I kind of lost track of this because I thought I would get an email with a copy of any post following my post. Didn't happened and today I remembered searching for this thread again.