Forum

• If I take the CWNA exam after Oct 30th would all of the exam objectives been covered in the 3rd edition book or will I need to by the 4th edition?

• By (Deleted User)

Hi mr1,
    I have just passed today my CWNA examination (81%), and I faced the issue you've mentioned. I'd like to share my impressions about the exam, I hope it will be useful to another candidates with similar backgroud to mine. Of course this is my subjective opinion and doesn't have to apply to other candidates, especially with other backgrounds.
    I've been working with IT security for more than 6 years and wireless was something new to me.
    I've used:
    - the CWNA Guide 3rd edition,
    - free flashcards,
    - wikipedia and google,
    - test questions.
    I didn't use:
    - any other manuals (the exam topics CAN be put in one manual in my opinion),
    - videos (they are wishy-washy for me, and good for exams where you need a "big picture"),
    - standards (they are too technical),
    - test exams (they teach you only how to pass exams in my opinion).
    About the exam:
    - stress was put on learning by heart, not on the "big picture",
    - deactivated "go back" button was somehow strange, but I didn't perceive it as a nuisance,
    - "new" topics were there (after 30.10.2006),
    - I liked the immediate exam result,
    - I liked the plenty of time, I've been given.
    My good advices:
    - if you can, use the updated manual. The old manual will still prepare you for the exam, but the "new" topics will steal you some points. If you score around 70% these points can decide if you pass,
    - when you learn try to memorize facts (not the "big picture"),
    - try to eliminate nonsense answers first. It works with CWNA as well,
    - don't hurry with questions, you'll have enough time for the questions. Some exams give you enough time (CISSP, CWNA), some don't (CISA).
    And... good luck!
    z.