Forum

• By (Deleted User)

After achieving quite a few industry wireless certifications, I asked myself, "So what's next?" I've been working with Wi-Fi for the last seven years and had radar and RF experience prior to that from the military but I've never delved too deep into the "guts" of radio. I wanted to learn something that would increase my knowledge and give me opportunities to expand Wi-Fi networking into other areas of wireless communications. I also wanted to be able to "give back" to my community by working with and volunteering for the local CERT (Community Emergency Response Team) in a communications role. This weekend I took and passed the FCC Element 2 exam and became a licensed Technician class Amateur Radio (Ham) operator.

Now, you may ask yourself, what the heck does amateur radio have to do with Wi-FI networking? Well, that's where it gets interesting. First, you'll need to learn about the basics of radios, antennas, and electronics to pass the short (and relatively easy) Technician class exam. Learning the basics will help expand your knowledge in Wi-Fi solutions as well, such as why different antennas operate the way they do and how RF reacts in different atmospheric conditions. It helps "bring home" some of those concepts we've always just accepted as Wi-Fi people because that's how we learned them.