Forum

• Hi.

I'm fairly new to the wireless LAN world, and was assigned to administer our two wireless lans. We are using Cisco 1210 AP's, WLSE and tacacs.
    Can some one explain how to correct TKIP local, and TKIP remote MIC failures? I haven't been able to find a clear answer using search engines, or Cisco.

Any help would be great.

Dave

• TKIP failures usually occur when the four way handshake is not complete. Usually the error logs on the AP should give u a brief on which stage TKIP fails.

MIC failures could be due to lot of interference and noise in the network or even due to multipath .. Basically the bit getting corrupted somehow somewhere...

Wireless Gurus here should give more info on this :)

---

• dlmus33 Escribi?3:

Can some one explain how to correct TKIP local, and TKIP remote MIC failures? I haven't been able to find a clear answer using search engines, or Cisco.

A TKIP MIC failure is when the Michael hash on the received frame does not properly validate. When TKIP was designed, a hashing algorithm was needed to protect the integrity of transmitted packets. Traditional hashing algorithms such as SHA1 and MD5 could not be used as they were CPU-intensive (remember that this has to be done for EACH packet received and transmitted). Neils Ferguson wrote the Michael hashing algorithm to answer the need for a hashing mechanism that provides a reasonable level of security, and is very fast, working within the constraints of legacy hardware designed to only accommodate WEP.

Michael does have several faults, where the security of the algorithm is less than the actual hash size (64-bits), making it possible to brute-force the MIC in only 2^29 operations. In order to mitigate this attack, the IEEE 802.11i working group added something called TKIP Countermeasures, where if the AP receives 2 packets with invalid Michael hashes within 60 seconds, it must disconnect all users and not accept any traffic for 60 seconds.