Forum

• By (Deleted User)

Hi,
    I'm studying for my CWNA right now and have a question about something I read in the CWNA v3.0 study guide. On pg. 399 it says that

"It is important to understand that a received RF signal can never be as strong as the signal that was transmitted, due to the effect of Free Space Path Loss"

This is in regards to multipath and how sometimes multipath can cause an increase in signal amplitude. My question is as follows:

I can see how the received signal at a station far away from an AP can never be greater than the transmitted signal. But what if I were to strategically place metal around an AP and have a station 1 foot away from it, wouldn't the Free Space Path Loss be negligible then and thus the increase in amplitude due to multipath could possibly be larger than the transmitted signal amplitude?

• There are many things to consider here, reflection, phase, upfade, downfade, multipath and intended use. So, here's a quick look.

The increase in amplitude or upfade can happen if the reflected signals arrive in phase with the main signal at the same time as the main signal. The multipath issue, as a problem, occurs when the reflected signals arrive out of phase with the main signal. If a reflected signal arrives at the same time as the main signal and is 180 degrees out of phase with the main signal, the effect is a nulling of the signal. Outdoor wireless mesh routers often depend on the upfade caused multipath to improve signal quality. The combined power of the reflected signals may be stronger than the main signal alone. Multipath can have good or bad effects on signal quality depending upon the timing of the signal and reflected signal(s) arrival and if the reflections are in or out of phase with the main signal.

• By (Deleted User)

Hi, thanks for responding to my message. I understand that there are many different things that need to be considered. You mentioned