Forum

• I am studying for the CWNA and I read about creating Multiple SSIDs. I looked at a couple of APs and I did not see and option to do this. My question is do you have to create multiple SSIDs on the AP or the switch.
    I am confused!

Thanks for the help

tpasi

• Not that I'm aware of but we have Dual-Band AP that's capable of running 2.4Ghz and 5Ghz

• What APs have you tried?

Generally this is a feature of a business-class access point vs. a consumer-grade access point. However, some of the Linux-based consumer-grade APs can be flashed to support this as well.

• Most enterprise class Access point have upto 16 ESSIDs supported by one radio , means they have to have a block of 16 MAC addresses to support that, some APs also support 16 ESSIDs but only 4 BSSIDs means you will only see 4 beacons ( every 25ms you will see a beacon out of the AP)that also mean the same radio can support multiple forms of security per ESSID.

• So you mean a you can configure multiple SSIDs on a Dual AP?

• Dual radios have nothing to do with multiple SSIDs. You can assign both radios to a single SSID, or each radio to multiple SSIDs.

• I have a 3com 7760. Are there any tutorials on how to configure an AP to multiple SSIDs?

Thank you guys for all the input and you patience in helping me under this.

• The 3Com 7760 does support multiple SSIDs. The user guide is here:

http://support.3com.com/infodeli/tools/wireless/3crwe776075/3Com_AP7760_User-Guide.pdf

• I am trying to set this up on the Cisco Aironet 1240. I am also having some problems, so if anyone can help, please let me know.

Can you run multiple (in our case, 2) SSID's without a VLAN capable switch or an Access Point Controller ?

Any advice appreciated.

• Different APs treat WLAN to VLAN mapping different. E.g. Motorola allows multiple WLANs to map to a single subnet, while Cisco limits mapping to a 1-to-1 ratio.