Forum

• I'm studying for the CWNA and I'm reading CWNA 4th edition study guide. I just got done reading Chapter 5 and one of the review questions has me confused.

The question is pretty simple. Question #5 page 230.

What is the ID of an ESS?
    A. BSSID
    B. SSID
    C. ESSID
    D. It doesn't exist.

The questions answers state the answer is D "It doesn't exist" I answered B SSID.

Earlier in the Chapter it even says "The ESS has an ID too, which is the SSID."

Is this just a mistake in the book or am I missing something here?

• ESS stands for Extended Service Set, considered a superset of BSS.
    ESS is when you have multiple APs sharing the same SSID. This feature allows for roaming support.

For ex: Assume, you have a large hall, and you want to provide wireless coverage. One AP might not do the job, so what you do is place several APs, all using the same SSID, and at the same time the APs must all be connected to the same network backbone in order to handle users smoothly from one AP to another. Since all the APs share the same SSID and are able to communicate with each other on the wired backbone, they now form an ESS.

So, in response to your question: There is no specific id for ESS. It is simply the same SSID for all APs that will participate in the ESS.

Here is a small definition to help you:
    BSSID: MAC address of the AP.
    SSID: identifier that identifies a wireless network. (edited)
    ESSID: no such thing -- although all APs in ESS share the same SSID.

Btw, I also studied in the official CWNA guide. You should:
    - Download the book's errata and correct all the mistakes that are in the book.
    - if there is anything you don't fully understand in the book, I suggest you google it and/or wiki it since the CWNA book has lots of missing info that are crucial for the exam.

• Kerric Escribi?3:

SSID: unique identifier that identifies a wireless network.

The BSSID up there is the Unique identifier.

SSID` need not be unique.