Forum

Data rate question

34 posts by 9 authors in: Forums > CWNA - Enterprise Wi-Fi Admin
Last Post: May 6, 2010:
  • This may be a dumb question, but I'm still fairly new to wireless theory so I still have a lot to learn.

I have an older linksys flashed with dd-wrt. It works fairly well, but the data rate seems to jump around a lot more than it should. I have tried setting it to "G-only" mode, but I still at times see the rate at 5.5 or 11 Mbps. I'm staying in the same location all day while seeing the rate jump all over the place. Same floor as the AP, roughly 40 feet away from it. I also live in a townhouse, so there are plenty of other users in close proximity. I've set myself to use the least congested channel, which happens to be channel 1. I was under the impression that enabling the "g-only" mode would prevent any (HR)-DSSS from initiating protection mechanisms. I also tried to force the data rate to be 54 Mbps, instead of the "auto" default. That just caused me to lose connection completely. Maybe I should try a lower rate of 36 or 48? I feel like I'm missing something obvious, or perhaps the device needs a firmware upgrade?

Any other ideas?

• If you cant do 54mbps yes try something lower like 24 and go up or even 12. just so you have a stable connection.

I have a Cisco 851 in my house and its tuckedin a corner, I consistemtly achieve 48mbps and thats through a floor and a cople of walls, not all stud partition but some brick.

Im suprised that it still uses DSSS when you have said "g" only. Not familiar with linksys especially a blown one.

Let us know how it goes.

• Hey Pete,