Forum

• Hello Colleagues,

First of all this is my first post in the CWNP forum and I have to say that it is a great pleasure to read your posts, a lot of good info. I have been working with WLAN for about 1.5 years and I really love it. At this moment I'm studying for CWNA and I want to do the test within 2 months.
    Anyway, let's go to my question.

In a co-located environment when you have 2 APs in the same channel in my understanding it works like 1 AP because the CSMA/CA prevents two devices to transmit on the same time. There is no RF interference.

Now let's suppose the same 2 APs but with adjacent channels (e.g 1 and 2 or 1 and 3), how it works in this scenario? Is carrier sense preventing interference between AP/STA or is there a chance to have a collision? Is NAV from AP/STA in one channel set with the duration value from AP/STA in a adjacent channel?
    I hope you can understand my point, sorry for my poor English. :-//

Another question, in Brazilian's regulatory domain (ANATEL), channels 1-13 are allowed in 2.4GHz band (Same as EU). Do you have experience using channels 1, 5, 9 and 13 for APs deployment? Thinking about performance, is there a chance to have better results than channels 1, 6 and 11 using a typical VoWLAN cell coverage (20% overlap, -70dBm cell boundaries and 19dB channel separation)?

Thanks
    Leo

• Hi Leo:

For virtually all practical purposes two co-located BSSs in consecutive 2.4 GHz channels (e.g. 1 and 2) interoperate the same way that two BSSs some distance from each other but in the same channel. In both cases frames from one BSS are receivable by the other BSS but are weaker. The receiver cannot tell if the weakness is due to a nearby transmitter with a 5 MHz channel center separation or a not so nearby transmitter with some meters of geographical (or BSS center) separation.