Forum

• I'm studying for CWAP exam and need some clarification on QoS.  I understand the that the upper app layers give an 802.1D tag to a frame and these tags are mapped to a user priority (UP) and then EDCA defines these UPs as one of four access categories (ACs) for prioritized QoS.  However, I do not understand when paramaterized QoS kicks in (admission control).  Why/when is it required to do a ADDTS action frame to introduce a new traffic stream (TS) into the cell when a voice or video frame is already tagged as a high priority frame (AC_VO or AC_VI)?  Does the ADDTS action frame supercede the AC category or add an additional priority ranking over an AC_VO or AC_VI frame?  It does not seem to be real clear on when this "new" TS is needed, why it is needed or how it is added.  Any clarification or web links would be appreciated.

Page 174 in the CWAP text states: "Managing QoS in wireless cells is complex."  Trying to understand it is complex, too.

• -> Admission control is required when a STA desires a guarantee of the amount of time that it has available to access the channel.
    ->When AP receives ADDTS it will reserve Medium Time for that particular TS. 
    -> It is APs job to protect the admitted TS.

For example lets consider STA sends ADDTS for Voice and AP accepts it. From wired side saturate the air with un-admitted traffic[Best Effort]. It is APs job to protect the admitted traffic. It’s up to the vendor how it handles the un-admitted traffic; one method is that the AP could drop some or all of the un-admitted traffic stream.