Forum

• As I am studying for the CWNA, I keep running across a question that makes me wonder a bit. Basically, asking what to use at a 4 mile bridge link. The correct answer is a semi directional, however, why would a highly directional be a wrong choice?

If it is strictly for a bridge link, why not use the more narrow beam width of the highly directional antenna. If the EIRP is too high for local regulations or something, you could use a lower transmission level or an attenuator. Perhaps I dig into these things too much but it peaks my curiosity.

Thanks a bunch!

• By DainBrammage - edited: December 11, 2013

Does the question address the bridge link as point to point or point to multi-point? What are the possible answers? The devil is usually in the details of the particular question and what would be the most correct answer will usually rule the day. Also, if the question does not contain additional information about the bridge link, revert to the black and white in the official course materials. The questions often have choices that look like legitimate answers. Even without exact question context, I feel very confident that what you are seeing here is  a well crafted question that uses what appears to be a legitimate answer but is factually wrong. It is what is referred to as a "distractor"

The types of antennae listed in the official study guide are omni-directional, semi-directional, directional and dish-grid.

• Thanks for the reply.

Here is the exact question.

To establish a 4-mile point-to-point bridge link in the 2.4 GHz ISM band, what factors should be taken under consideration? choose all that apply

a. Fresnel zone with 40 percent or less blockage

b. Earth bulge calculations

c. Minimum of 16 dBi of passive gain

d. Proper choice of semidirectional antennas

e. Proper choice of highly directional antennas

So a point to point link, a and d are the official correct answers.