Forum

• I'm currently studying for my CWNA and I'm trying to find out how an 802.11a access point causes all-band interference in the 2.4 GHz ISM band.

• Hi Alfredo

Under normal circumstances, an 802.11a access point would not cause all-band interference in the 2.4 GHz ISM band. 802.11a access points operate in the 5 GHz frequency bands.

802.11a access points never really "caught on" in the commercial arena. However,  when the "principles" of 802.11a were "transferred" to the 2.4 GHz band, to become 802.11g, those systems were highly popular and commercially successful. Even today, with 802.11n and 802.11ac, there are still plenty of 802.11g client devices out there.

It is possible for some radio transmitters to produce spurious signals which can cause interference in certain frequency regions. However. most modern transmitters are fitted with good filters which allow ( for example ) only 5 GHz signals to be emitted from a 5 GHz device. The filter roll-off characteristics are normally so good that it would be impossible for any 2.4 GHz erroneous signals to be transmitted, far less have any type of all-band interference.

Where you reading a book/tech paper  that mentioned this scenario ?

Dave

• Dave is certainly right, it can't really cause interference in the 2.4 band. It is either a typo or a trick question you are seeing perhaps?

• Thank you Neal and David for your reply I was thinking it was probably a typo but I wanted to make sure that I wasn't misinterpreting the question in the "CWNA 105- Practice Exam 1 (Question 16 of 60)."  Which asks:

Which of these devices cause all-band interference in the 2.4 GHz ISM band? (Choose all that apply.)

A. Bluetooth,

B.FHSS cordless phones

C. DSSS cordless phones

D. 802.11a access points

E.All of the above

Then the answer is: A, B, D