Book Review: 802.11ac - A Survival Guide

Book Review: 802.11ac - A Survival Guide

By CWNP On 01/29/2014 - 11 Comments

A review by Tom Carpenter, CTO of CWNP, of 802.11ac - A Survival Guide written by Matthew Gast, and key takeaways garnered.

By: Tom Carpenter

First, let me say that I love the "Survival Guide" concept employed in the 802.11ac book by Matthew Gast and the 802.11n book before it. The concept of building on to the 802.11 Wireless Networks – The Definitive Guide with these books is brilliant and makes for simpler reading for those who have been in the industry for some time.

Like the 802.11n – A Survival Guide (2012) before it, 802.11ac – A Survival Guide (hereafter known as 802.11ac-ASG) presents the new capabilities of a physical layer (with some Data Link layer additions/modifications) addition to the standard rather than injecting the new information into an update to the complete book (802.11 Wireless Networks - The Definitive Guide). If you are completely new to the wireless industry or just starting to truly learn how 802.11 networks work, you really should read The Definitive Guide first; however, if you are a CWNA or above, you are well prepared to read and understand 802.11ac-ASG.

The book is divided into five chapters, making it easy to quickly locate the knowledge you seek. The first chapter provides a high-level overview of 802.11ac with a bit of history and then the new features provided. Then chapter two introduces the new physical layer (PHY), which is called Very High Throughput (VHT) in the standard. Chapter three covers the MAC (a Data Link sublayer) changes. Chapter 4 helps you to wrap your mind around one of the hot topics in 802.11ac: beamforming. Finally, chapter 5 provides an overview of the 802.11ac planning process.

With that overview complete, let me share a few sections of the book that I feel were most valuable.

First, the overview of 256-QAM, in Gast's trademark ability to simplify the complex, grants the reader an understanding of this modulation that is more than sufficient for anyone doing the work of a network administrator or engineer. Remember, only the chipset makers and low-level programmers need to master the very fine details of modulation methods. We, as administrators and engineers, must know enough about them to plan for their availability and functionality when required. For example, we need to understand enough about 256-QAM to implement 802.11 in areas that require this highest level of throughput (more accurately data rate) provided so that users can indeed connect in those areas at those throughput levels. Matthew helps you to understand that the error vector plays a big role in the ability of the receiver to receive and process a signal at this high data rate.

The second area I found to provide an exceptional summary was the section (on page 47) titled Basic Channel Access Rules. Here, clarity is delivered in the area of channel access and it provides this clarity in simple terms, which is most important as you initially learn these concepts. The end understanding is that CCA must be performed across primary and secondary channels for proper transmission of data.

The third area of great benefit is an entire chapter. Chapter 4, Beamforming in 802.11ac, is a must read for any serious student of wireless networking. Here, you will learn all you need to know to understand beamforming and ensure that you are selecting the appropriate equipment to make it available in your environment as the various vendors provide this feature. As the chapter reminds us, "because 802.11ac beamforming is based on explicit channel measurements, both the transmitter and the receiver must support it." Stated differently, your wireless client must support is as well as the AP. This kind of good, to-the-point, information permeates this chapter.

Of course, the final chapter on planning for 802.11ac is a valuable section as well. Understanding the equipment that is available today as opposed to what should be available in late 2014 or early 2015, may indeed impact your decision for migration. You may choose to wait until wave 2 so that you are upgrading to all the key features of 802.11ac instead of just some of them. Of course, we will not have 8x8:8 in the next year or two, but we should at least see MU-MIMO.

In the end, Matthew Gast's book, 802.11ac-ASG is a must read for wireless network administrators and engineers. If you are a CWNA or even hold our professional level certifications, this book will be of great benefit in your continuous learning process.

Tagged with: wireless, 802.11ac, 256-QAM, Basic Channel Access Rules, Beamforming, equipment, features

11 Responses to Book Review: 802.11ac - A Survival Guide

Subscribe by Email
xcv xcv Says:
03/05/2018 at 02:01am

How not reebok running shoes receiving lightheaded going nike shoes on sale through handstands

Rayl. Therefore, jordan 13 He or sthis individual beats earphones results cheap nike basketball shoes in beats by dr dre seven treasured beats earbuds grandkids beats by dre cheap and

Galang saputra Says:
01/30/2018 at 23:32pm
Supplier sch 40
Supplier sch 40
Supplier Plat kapal besi baja bki krakatau steel
Supplier besi Pipa sch 80 baja jual hp asus murah jual hp asus murah
Supplier besi beton Sni Ulir Polos
undangan pernikahan ala jepang
Pabrik Besi Pipa Baja Schedule 40
Toko Besi Unp Baja
Supplier besi wf
jual laptop asus jual laptop asus
jual laptop asus murah jual laptop asus murah
Toko sch 40
Toko sch 40
Supplier besi siku
Toko besi Pipa sch 80 baja
Supplier besi wf baja
undangan pernikahan islami
Pabrik Pipa Besi Hitam Medium
Jual Besi Unp Baja
Toko besi wf
Distributor besi beton Sni Ulir Polos polos ulir
Agen sch 40
Agen sch 40
Supplier pipa besi baja sch 40 sch 80
Agen besi Pipa sch 80 baja
Supplier besi unp
undangan pernikahan ada fotonya
Pabrik Besi Wf
Harga Besi Unp Baja
Agen besi wf
Distributor besi beton sii
Pabrik sch 40
Pabrik sch 40
Supplier Plat besi
Pabrik besi Pipa sch 80 baja
Supplier besi siku
undangan pernikahan simple
undangan pernikahan ala india
Pabrik Besi H beam
Pabrik Besi Unp Baja
Pabrik besi wf
Distributor besi beton psi Ulir Polos
Distributor besi Pipa sch 80 baja
Distributor besi Pipa sch 80 baja
Supplier besi h beam
Distributor Plat Bordes
Supplier Plat besi plat kapal
undangan pernikahan
Pabrik Besi Beton
Distributor Besi Cnp Baja
Distributor Besi Beton
Distributor besi beton perwira
Harga besi Pipa sch 80 baja
Harga besi Pipa sch 80 baja
Supplier besi wf
Harga Plat Bordes
Supplier besi h beam baja
undangan pernikahan simple
Supplier Besi Cnp Baja
Harga Besi Beton
Distributor besi beton PAS
Jual besi Pipa sch 80 baja
Jual besi Pipa sch 80 baja
Supplier wiremesh
Jual Plat Bordes
Supplier besi cnp
undangan pernikahan bermanfaat
Distributor Welded Beam T beam King Queen Cross Castellated Beam
Agen Besi Cnp Baja
Jual Besi Beton
Distributor besi beton master steel ms
Supplier besi Pipa sch 80 baja
Supplier besi Pipa sch 80 baja
Supplier besi unp
Supplier Plat Bordes
undangan pernikahan islami
Distributor Bondek Cor
Toko Besi Cnp Baja
Supplier Besi Beton
Distributor besi beton ksty
Toko besi Pipa sch 80 baja
Toko besi Pipa sch 80 baja
Supplier besi cnp
Toko Plat Bordes
Pabrik besi Wf Baja
undangan pernikahan amplop surat
Distributor Atap Spandek Sni
Jual Besi Cnp Baja
Toko Besi Beton
Distributor besi beton krakatau steel
Agen besi Pipa sch 80 baja
Agen besi Pipa sch 80 baja
Supplier besi hollow
Agen Plat Bordes
Pabrik bondek
undangan pernikahan bentuk dompet
Distributor Plat Bordes Kembang
Harga Besi Cnp Baja
Agen Besi Beton
Distributor besi beton jcac
Pabrik besi Pipa sch 80 baja
Pabrik besi Pipa sch 80 baja
Supplier besi beton Sni Ulir Polos
Pabrik Plat Bordes
Pabrik wiremesh
undangan pernikahan chinese
Distributor Plat Besi Hitam
Pabrik Besi Cnp Baja
Pabrik Besi Beton
Distributor besi beton interworld steel is
Distributor Plat Bordes
Distributor Plat Bordes
Distributor Wiremesh Besi
Pabrik pipa besi baja sch 40 sch 80
undangan pernikahan lucu
Distributor Plat Kapal Bki Krakatau Steel
Distributor Besi Hollow Baja
Distributor besi hollow
Distributor besi beton gunung garuda
Harga Plat Bordes
Harga Plat Bordes
Pabrik stainless steel
Harga Wiremesh Besi
Pabrik besi hollow
undangan pernikahan bagus
Distributor Jual Besi Siku Baja
Supplier Besi Hollow Baja
Harga besi hollow
Distributor besi beton delcoprima
Jual Plat Bordes
Jual Plat Bordes
Pabrik atap spandek
Jual Wiremesh Besi
Pabrik besi beton Sni Ulir Polos
undangan pernikahan bahasa inggris islam
Distributor Besi Unp Baja Profil Kanal
Agen Besi Hollow Baja
Jual besi hollow
Distributor besi beton cakra steel cs
Supplier Plat Bordes
Supplier Plat Bordes
Pabrik baja ringan
Supplier Wiremesh Besi
Pabrik besi wf baja
undangan pernikahan contoh
Distributor Besi Cnp Profil Baja Gording
Toko Besi Hollow Baja
undangan pernikahan

Brett Smith Says:
01/26/2018 at 06:34am
However, I can slowly sense the sadness of the death of iOS set in. Like for example, my favorite apps that I use at the App Store do now not exist on Google Play Store, or when there is a totally cool function that was on iOS and no longer on Google Play Store. Best Essay Help UK

Sara Marchetti Says:
01/19/2018 at 03:11am
This is very nice informative blog. I have searched many sites but was not able to get information same as your site.
I really like the ideas and very intersting to read so much. Please update and i would love to read more from your site.

kelly peterson Says:
01/12/2018 at 06:30am
Number of teachers and writers have knowledge about the books and theses, so they can give right review related to books or theses even those who study accredited online university for completing higher study so they earn more experience by reading different content and reports related to the topic.

Jordan Young Says:
01/11/2018 at 06:03am
This survival guide is an impressive concept and this is very crucial for especially software engineers. This book is very simple and easy to understand which the best thing about this book is.
Cheap Dissertation Writing Services UK

Liza John Says:
01/10/2018 at 08:32am
Composing a school survival reference write book for young ladies? write my assignment for me

it won't be distributed, yet my companions and I would absolutley LOVE it!

Anyway, any thoughts for points whatsoever? (young men ARE welcome to remark, despite the fact that the book would prob be gone for young ladies matured 11-14)

Umm.. so proceed.

sidd yadav Says:
01/06/2018 at 10:12am
That is the fast lession the page facebook hacking it is the most powerful link.

rossi david Says:
12/31/2017 at 08:17am
As I know, most bloggers deal with different topics. But only some bloggers try to go beyond the limits of blogging, stand upon the brim or creative writing
and come up with excellent pieces of writing. This blog belongs to the second type, cheers!

@ best essay writing service

brock lesner Says:
12/21/2017 at 12:01pm
This is very simple process to change ringtone in window mobile and laptop,firstly following this all steps,you can access single click and change ringtone method to change ringtone in windows 10 mobile changing ringtone tutorial for windows mobile,this method to change ringtone in windows 10 mobile,million web users use this window 10,and this window are replaced your computer.

ann dragoo Says:
12/12/2017 at 10:22am
Students need a depth and rigor that is not found in the videos; they should buy thesis paper if they are going to be successful in higher level mathematics such as Calculus. Students who attempt Calculus with a background provided by videos such as these will have a very, very hard time finding success.

<< prev - comments page 1 of 1 - next >>

Leave a Reply

Please login or sign-up to add your comment.
Success Stories

I literally just came out of the testing centre having taken the CWDP exam. The certification process opened my mind to different techniques and solutions. This knowledge can only broaden your perspective. Great job, CWNP, you have a great thing going on here.

Read More

Working through the CWNP coursework and certifications helped not only to deepen my technical knowledge and understanding, but also it boosted my confidence. The hard work it took to earn my CWNE has been rewarding in so many ways.

Read More

I want to commend you and all at CWNP for having a great organization. You really 'raise the bar' on knowing Wi-Fi well. I have learned a ton of information that is helping my job experience and personal career goals, because of my CWAP/CWDP/CWSP studies. Kudos to all at CWNP.

Read More