Forum

• I finished and passed my CWNA exam, so I thought I'd answer a few questions that I had when I first started ... for the benefit of anyone new who might have similar questions.

Why did you take the course?
    ----------------------------------------

Just to calibrate, I'm a firmware engineer for a company that makes access points, and even though I had a few years of experience I wanted to round out my knowledge from the perspective of someone who is "up to their elbows" in day to day wireless problems ... wireless network administrators.

Some people might think that certification as an administrator for someone who is had worked with the firmware (in my case, OpenWrt) was frivolous, but I say it was not.

My primary objective was to round out my knowledge ... the certification was a 'bonus'

Of the overall content, I would say about 30-40% was new to me. Firmware types like me typically don't work with antennae, we typically don't work with cabling or PoE, nor do we work with post-deployment validation, among other things.

How did you go about the coursework?
    ----------------------------------------------------

I initially got my study guide and dug in. At around Chapter 5, I decided to include the on-line lessons with my study. My approach was to view the on-line lesson, take notes and the on-line quiz, the move to the study guide and read, take notes and take the review quiz.

I also generated copious 3 x 5 "flash cards" to study on my daily bus commute to work. Maybe that sounds like going overboard, but I am pretty serious about wireless.

So ... how long did it take?
    -----------------------------------

I started at a tough time ... shortly before Christmas, so I wasn't able to keep to my original objective of a chapter every two days.

All in all, I believe I probably invested about four hours per chapter (total) over about 3 weeks, which would bring me to around 52 hours total for the course ... but then I'm hard core.