Forum

• I was doing a site survey today, just gathering info to do some troubleshooting from a client site and pulling configs from a controller as the first steps.

Usual story clients saying they get intermittent connectivity.

By the way I didnt do the implementation

I was surveying when a client told me we were using the wrong antennas?

Me "OK why would that be" I ask

Client "You shouldbe using directional antennas as they are more secure rather than omnis"

Me "Hmm"

Me again "OK how do you work that out"

Client "Well I can pick this up in the car park"

Me "Well antenna type really isn't any correlation to security and typically in an office you will get omnis"

Client "Im a security expert and I know all about this sort of thing its the cheapest stuff they could buy"

Me "Well even if you did use diectional antennas with the right kit you could still pick it up in the carpark, and RF bounces all over the place so theres a good chance plus there are back and side lobes to directional antennas"

Client "Directional antennas focus the beam so you cant get onto the wireless"

Me "Shouldn't wee look at security as a more strategic indepth activity than the antennas such as EAP and encryption etc and what are the infrastructure capabilities"

Client "Yeah I know all that us three are security experts (pointing at colleagues) and know all about wireless stuff and this is rubbish"

Am I missing something or is this guy an idiot!

I cant post what I wanted to say but hey ho, we are all adults so you can guess!

• By (Deleted User)

Hand him a CWSP study guide and see if he can make it through.